We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Super Standards

by Button Masher

  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more

    You own this


Infant Eyes 01:45
Poinciana 02:09


Jazz and 16-bit worlds collide in Super Standards! ▸ vgm.fm/super
Performed and arranged by Button Masher, Super Standards is a concept album that reimagines 12 jazz standards in the styles of Super Nintendo games.

Button Masher is Jake Silverman, a Grammy award-winning arranger and pianist. He is also known for his viral 16-bit and chiptune covers and collaborations with Dj Cutman and The 8-Bit Big Band. With his roots in jazz and live performance, and a passion for videogame music, Jake bridges both worlds in Super Standards.

Super Standards features 12 jazz favorites, each in the unique styles of some of the greatest games for the Super Nintendo Entertainment System. The tracklisting includes universal favorites such as “Somewhere Over the Rainbow”, “My Favorite Things”, and “Just The Way You Are”, and tracks “Poinciana” and “Humpty Dumpty” pay tribute to the legacy of late jazz musicians Ahmad Jamal and Chick Corea respectively. Using real SNES hardware and a device called the Super MIDI Pak, Button Masher interprets these classics as melodies from Super Mario World, Donkey Kong Country, A Link to the Past, Kirby Super Star, Yoshi’s Island, Pilotwings, and RPGs Chrono Trigger, Secret of Mana, and Earthbound. Super Standards features compositions by Wayne Shorter, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Nat Simon, Chick Corea, and more.

Super Standards is out now on all online stores and streaming platforms! Support Button Masher and GameChops by streaming, saving, and adding the tracks to your playlists.


released August 25, 2023

Produced by Button Masher
Album artwork by Drip
Single artwork by Normal Neighbor
Mastered by Dj Cutman
Composed by E.Y. Harburg, Harold Arlen; Wayne Shorter; Antonio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes; Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers; Guy B. Wood, Robert Mellin; Buddy Bernier, Nat Simon; Oscar Hammerstein II; Frank Loesser; Bronislaw Kaper, Ned Washington; Chick Corea; Paul Williams, Kenny Ascher; and Billy Joel
Inspired by Super Mario All-Stars, Chrono Trigger, Earthbound, Super Mario World, The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past, Donkey Kong Country, Secret of Mana, Pilotwings, Kirby’s Dream Course, Kirby Super Star, and Yoshi’s Island




GameChops Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

The original video game record label

contact / help

Contact GameChops

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account